From the Ref’s Office: October 14th, 2016

The weekend is finally here– and this is no ordinary weekend. It’s time for RetroWorld Expo, and I’m looking forward to being there. I’ve been looking forward to seeing my friends from Retroware, as well as getting the chance to meet some of my favorite video creators (including Pat The NES Punk, The Game Chasers, The Gaming Historian, Gamester81, Pixel Dan, and more).

I have my fingers crossed that I’ll be coming home from RetroWorld Expo with a Dreamcast. The console has a lot of great sports games, both arcade and sim, and I’d really like to cover them. I have put together a bunch of games from my collection to sell with the hope of getting enough cash to get a Dreamcast on site. I’ll also have my eyes open for other sports games at the event, as well as a few other things. From what I understand, I may also be doing a special video game challenge with Retroware at the show. Stay tuned to my personal Twitter feed for news on that.

“So, what’s up with the site?” Well…

Later on this morning, at about 11am EDT, a new After Further Review piece (on NHL Rock the Rink) will be going up before I do last-minute prep for my trip. I have one more After Further Review that I have on the schedule for next week (for NHL Hitz Pro), and I have one more In The Booth piece on NHL ’98 that I’d like to get done before the month is out. Hockey games will likely be on the agenda for the rest of October, followed by a focus on basketball for November… but this is subject to change and tinkering as I go, as always.

I had planned to write the Rock the Rink piece last week, but I started substitute teaching and free time was limited. It’s a bit of an adjustment going from playing games by day and writing by night to teaching by day and going to bed at a decent hour at night. I’m in the process of changing up my routine, and hope to be acclimated in another week or two.

Retro Referee content has begun expanding outside of this website. My first review for Sega Does went up a few weeks ago, and I’ll be submitting reviews of Genesis sports games there every so often when they come up on the chronological list. I think my next review there will be, and I’m looking forward to that. I have one other site that I’m looking to post retro sports game-related content to, but that’s still in the works.

As for Film Room videos, reaction was pretty positive to the NHL Open Ice video I filmed earlier this month. I’m still trying to decide whether I want to talk about the game a bit and then play a bit on camera, or just talk about the game and leave gameplay out. I definitely want to do more videos, so they’ll be coming… especially after I hammer out my daily and weekly routines a bit better. I’m strongly considering doing one for NBA HangTime next month.

That’s it from The Ref’s Office for now. I’m off to get some sleep before a day of packing and last-minute prep for this weekend’s big show. I hope you enjoy the NHL Rock the Rink review, and look for the NHL Hitz Pro review sometime next week. Icetober is in full effect!

 

You make the call!

