From The Ref’s Office: October 18th, 2016

Just a quick update as I am teaching in the morning:

I am thrilled to share that I did indeed purchase a Dreamcast while at RetroWorld Expo this past weekend. It was my main goal– I sold off some non-sports games from my collection and most of my NES manuals to get there, but I’m glad I did it. It was important for this project that I have a Dreamcast, because of its significance in the sports video game genre. It’s one thing to watch YouTube videos and go by memory, but it’s another to actually play the games myself and react to them with direct experience.

dc-stuff
A visit to Game Depot in Holyoke, MA landed me this treasure trove of Dreamcast goodies.

Once this month (Icetober) is completed– and, yes, the After Further Review piece on NHL Hitz Pro is still on target for this week– November will be a less of a themed month and more varied. Dreamcast-related content will be part of the plan. I don’t want to get into too much detail just yet, but I have a fair number of options in my head that I’ll be looking to flesh out. I’m still trying to track down a handful of games (most notably NBA Showtime and Virtua Tennis), but I have a couple of weeks to keep looking.

The above video shows what I got at Retroworld Expo over the weekend, as well as some thoughts on the show in general. There’s more than just sports games here, for what it’s worth.

That’s it from The Ref’s Office for now, but check back in here later this week for a look at NHL Hitz Pro— a game that deserves a lot more attention than it got during its heyday.

You make the call!

